Chakra Mind New Spirit Yoga

Mudras, Mantras and Yoga for the Chakras


Hello dear readers, Yogis and friends!

In the last weeks we told ou a lot about the Chakras and how to work with them with the help of mudras (hand-gestures), mantras (sayings and repeated sounds) and Yoga-Asanas (postures).

Following we collected all the posts for you in this one as an overview so you can find them easily.


The Chakras

Chakras (Sanskrit-word for ‚energy-vortex‘) are points of energy in our body. Energy flows in and out of us at those points and you can imagine them as ‘vortexes’ through the body.
We have several thousands of them, but the 7 main chakras influence our daily life and are also influenced by us – consciously or not.

uh_girl-lotus-yoga-meditation-pose-chakras Sahasrara – The Crown-Chakra
Ajna – The Third Eye
Vishuddha – The Throat-Chakra
Anahata – The Heart-Chakra
Manipura – The Solar Plexus
Svadhisthana – The Sacral-Chakra
Muladhara – The Root-Chakra

It’s important to keep your Chakras in balance, because anything that’s going on on your inside is also mirrored on the outside. Chakras can be only a little opened, or also blocked, but they can also be too much opened, like being wound up.

To work with the chakras and to balanve them there are several ways to approach. Ideally you will choose a mixture of many methods to work with them, like we’re going to tell you in these following blogposts. Of course it’s also always a great idea to listen to your inner voice, because some methods will feel good to you, and others maybe won’t fit you at all.


Here’s a little overview of all blogposts:


The Root-Chakra (Muladhara)

It is sometimes said that the root chakra is the most important one, since it connects us to the physical world and is the very ‘root’ of our being. It is the most primal chakra of all. It holds the survival and flight instinct, the animalistic nature of human beings, our sense of safety and security within society and in interpersonal concerns. It is the energetic place within the body that holds our life energy and from which we draw that energy in portions.


The Sacral-Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The sacral chakra is the second main chakra and is located in the body abreast with the sacrum. It is associated with the lust for life, relationships, ambition, sexuality and the living in the ‘now’. It mostly is known as the ‘sexual chakra’ but another very important thing about the sacral chakra is, that it is directly connected to our emotions and the complexity of them. It is the center of pure creation, not only in an artsy way, but in a godly ‘creator’ way.


The Solar-Plexus (Manipura)

The Solar plexus is the third main chakra and is located in the abdomen in the area of the navel. The Manipura affects our sense of ego and self-confidence, it guides us in our intentions and purposes and is connected to the achieving of our goals. How well you can achieve the things you wish to achieve is connected to the energies within your solar plexus chakra. It helps us to make decisions, to strive for our goals and to actually believe in making them happen. The solar plexus has a lot to do with our personality as well.


The Heart-Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra and is located around the heart area of the body and is the center of the main chakra system. It is responsible for the ability to feel unconditional love for yourself and others, for the nature and for perceiving love for the cosmos and the connection to all that is. The Anahata makes us empathic and lets us see behind the ‘veils’ of a person. The heart chakra is also part of our inner guidance system and intuitive ‘gut’ feeling‘.


The Throat-Chakra (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra the fifth chakra and is placed in the area of the larynx. It is the center of communication and is responsible for the way we express ourselves verbally and creatively. It stands for self-determination and independence and gives us the possibility to communicate our thoughts to others openly.


The Third Eye (Ajna)

The chakra located in the center of the forehead, between and slightly above the eyebrows. This chakra stands for consciousness, awareness and occult knowledge. (‘occult’ is nothing evil, the word only means ‘hidden, secret’ or ‘beyond knowledge of the mainstream’). The third eye is also the place were our insights are energetically processed and through which we are able to experience supernatural cognition and abilities. It is the chakra that is related to the manifestation of thoughts into things, to the ability to visualize vividly and manifest wishes through intent focus.


The Crown-Chakra (Sahasrara)

The crown chakra is the seventh of the main chakras and is located outside of the physical body just above the head. It opens upward and connects us to the ethereal realm and the divine consciousness. It is responsible for the connection to the highest expression of ourselves and the very origin of our existence. The crown chakra is the connection to the ‘big picture’, to the oneness of all things, to the soul contract. The crown chakra is a highly spiritual ‘connection point’ and not easily accessed or opened in a physical realm. The crown chakra is the ‘straw’ our soul clutches at when it decides to incarnate as a physical body.


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply